Joseph L. Goldstein, M.D. and Michael S. Brown, M.D., Nobel Laureates and Regental Professors, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.

Nobel Laureates Joseph L. Goldstein and Michael S. Brown Deliver Third Annual Aaron J. Shatkin Lecture

Joseph L. Goldstein is Chairman of the Department of Molecular Genetics at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and is a Regental Professor. Dr. Goldstein holds the Paul J. Thomas Chair in Medicine and the Julie and Louis A. Beecherl Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science. Michael S. Brown is the Director of the Erik Jonsson Center for Molecular Genetics and is also a Regental Professor at the University of Texas Southwestern. Drs. Goldstein and Brown discovered the low density lipoprotein (LDL) receptor and worked out how these receptors control cholesterol homeostasis. At the basic level, this work opened the field of receptor-mediated endocytosis, and at the clinical level it helped lay the conceptual groundwork for development of drugs called statins that lower blood LDL-cholesterol and prevent heart attacks. Drs. Goldstein and Brown shared many awards for this work, including the Lasker Award in Basic Medical Research (1985), Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (1985), and National Medal of Science (1988). In recent work, Drs. Goldstein and Brown discovered the SREBP family of transcription factors and showed how these membrane-bound molecules control the synthesis of cholesterol and fatty acids through a newly described process of Regulated Intramembrane Proteolysis. For this work, Drs. Brown and Goldstein received the Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research (2003).

The 2014 Aaron J. Shatkin Lecture was held on Thursday, March 27 at 4:00PM in the Robert Wood Johnson Medical School Main Lecture Hall, adjacent to CABM. Attendees were invited to a reception in the Great Hall immediately following the lecture.

The Endowed Aaron J. Shatkin Lectureship

To recognize the scientific achievements and the excellence in science and education fostered by CABM founding director, Aaron Shatkin, an endowed annual lectureship was established in his name and announced at the 25th Anniversary CABM Symposium in October 2011. Dr. Shatkin attended the inaugural lecture, delivered by Dr. Harold Varmus in April 2012.

CABM appreciates the tremendous support expressed for the Aaron J. Shatkin Lectureship and extends our warmest thanks to friends, colleagues and donors to the fund. We look forward to making the Shatkin Lecture a highly anticipated event on campus each spring.

To contribute to the lectureship fund, please visit the Aaron J. Shatkin Lectureship Fund page.